Originally called Nimity Bell, the area was taken up by graziers in the 1840s and a small town began to develop in the early 1850s. The first records of the Nimmitabel settlement date from the 1830s. By the 1850s it had become a small village of slab and bark huts surrounded by grazing properties. In 1858 it officially became a town. Today, it’s a small pretty township with its distinguishing feature being a stone windmill, built last century by one of the region’s German settlers.
Nimmitabel is situated on the escarpment where you can enjoy grand vistas across the plains and ancient volcanic landscape to the Snowy Mountains or take the short scenic drive to the coast. Nimmitabel is also a great base for exploring the rugged Wadbilliga National Park and Tuross Falls.
Nimmitabel is a charming settlement with an abundance of historic buildings. The 1860s-era Old Flour Mill, St Andrew’s Catholic Church and Public School built in 1882 are some of the highlights. Nimmitabel was the home of the first Greek immigrant to Australia, Jigger Bulgary, who is buried at the Pioneer Cemetery in the village.
Points of interest
- The 1860’s era Old Flour Mill
- St Andrews Catholic Church and Public School built in 1882
- 1863 Police Station
- Court House and Lock Up Museum
- Craft shops
- George the elephant at the Nimmitabel Bakery
- Lake William
- South East Forest National Park
- Heritage Village Walk